A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible.

Posted: May 1, 2012 in .Net, WF4.0
Tags: ,

Past two days I was so upset with my computer that whenever I tried running my workflow xamlx,it started throwing exception “A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections” .It was then I realized that my recent effort to install SQL Express 2012 has messed up my SQL Express 2008 with VS 2010.I tried to repair,remove,add etc options inorder to get my SQLExpress back & get my workflow back to normal.No luck & I was almost at the verge of crying thinking about what the admin guys are going to tell me if I take my computer to them “Just Re-image the machine,that’s the only thing we can do” .Today evening inspite being a holiday and a having bad cold,i decided to give a try once again if I can do something.I knew that if I delete the entries of SQLServer from registry it may help.My hubby darling was advicing me saying you are gonna mess up your windows as well if you play with registry.I wanted to listen to him,but I thought if I have to reimage the system next morning,there is nothing wrong in playing with registry.Here is what I did & that infact successfully helped me install SQLExpress 🙂
1) Open Run Menu and type regedit to open Registry Editor
2)Go to following location.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > Software > Microsoft > Microsoft SQL Server > 90
3)Remove Registry Key 90.

I manually removed the SQLServer instances from Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Programs and Features and after that I ran visual studio setup and installed Microsft SQL Express.It got installed successfully & I could run my workflow after that :)It was worth giving a try.Eureka!!

Leave a Reply

